Vegan Mac and Cheese

I haven’t posted a recipe in forever, as I had determined I’m definitely not a food blogger. So I didn’t take pics as I made this, but, I just had to share the recipe because I really enjoyed it.

I’ve tried a few different healthier macaroni and cheese recipes over the years, but this one won over my meat eating husband and sometimes picky 6 year old daughter. My husband couldn’t believe there wasn’t any dairy in this recipe (AND no vegan cheese ‘product’ like Daiya).🙌

Just a few notes about this…I’m terrible about following recipes and often just do my own thing and use a recipe as a general guide. Also, this is most definitely not Candida safe….after April I was given the go-ahead to start introducing those off limits foods and am struggling again. So although I’m good at not eating added sugars, the gluten free starches are a problem for me and cause me unbelievable discomfort. I think I will be battling this for life unfortunately. It’s hard to find that balance. That being said, this recipe tastes great!


I started out by boiling a few chopped red skin potates (left skin on), then once they were somewhat soft I dumped them into a pan with some avocado oil and sautéed them with the carrots, onions, tomatoes and garlic. In a separate pot I cooked 16oz of gluten free pasta. Then I dumped the cooked veggie mix plus maybe a cup or so of water, and the remaining ingredients into the blender and puréed until smoothe. Then I mixed that into the pot of cooked pasta and stirred to coat evenly. I steamed some broccoli and added it when serving. Done! I sprinkled mine with a little crushed red pepper. I doubled the recipe below. I’d suggest less ground pepper if you don’t like spicy food. I wish I knew where I found this recipe! If I find it, I’ll link 😊.

Vegan Mac & Cheese

INGREDIENTS:

2¼ cups water

1 medium potato (about 1 cup) or use ¾ cup mashed potatoes (I used maybe 6-7 organic red skin potatoes)

⅓ cup chopped carrots

4 garlic cloves or 1 tsp garlic powder

2 tbsp chopped onion or use ½ tsp onion powder

½ green chili (optional)

½ medium tomato, chopped

½ to 1 tsp prepared mustard

2 tsp soy sauce or liquid aminos (I omitted)

3 to 4 tbsp nutritional yeast

2 to 3 tsp lemon juice

2 tbsp avocado oil (omit to make oil free)

⅓ tsp paprika

½ tsp sriracha (optional)

¾ tsp or more salt

½ tsp freshly ground black pepper

8 oz elbows pasta, cooked to preference

1 cup broccoli, chopped

INSTRUCTIONS

In a skillet, add water, potato, carrots, garlic, onion, chili and tomato. Cover and cook over medium-high heat for 17 to 19 minutes or until the potato is very tender and breaks easily. (add 2 Tbsp cashews for creamier sauce). Cool slightly.

Meanwhile, cook the pasta to aldente. (in parallel with the above step if you like).

Add the potato carrot mixture to a blender with the rest of the ingredients. Blend until smooth. taste and adjust salt and spice.

Transfer to the pan over medium heat. Add salt, white pepper, ⅓ tsp black pepper. Mix in. Bring to a boil. Carefully taste and adjust salt, cheesiness (add more nutritional yeast if needed).

Add the cooked pasta and broccoli or other veggies. Mix in. Cover and cook for 3 to 4 minutes or until the sauce comes to a good boil and thickens.

Let it sit for 5 minutes. Mix in the rest of the freshly ground black pepper (1/2 to ⅔ tsp). Sprinkle more pepper if you wish and serve/

NOTES

For creamier sauce or variation: Add tbsp cashews, or 1-2 Tbsp sesame seeds or pumpkin seeds with the potato and carrots or add a tbsp of flour to the blended sauce.

If you like your broccoli and veggies a bit cooked, add them to the pasta pot, 5 minutes before the pasta will be taken off heat. Drain both and keep aside.

Leave a Reply

