Product Review: Ripple Plant Milk

I am a label reader. I don’t just like to know what I’m eating, I have to know because of all the food sensitivities I have.

Anyway, one thing I never thought about was dairy milk. I drink almond or coconut milk that has zero sugar. My husband and daughter drink 2% organic dairy milk. I about fell over when I saw a cup of dairy milk has 12 GRAMS of sugar in it. TWELVE!!! In. Milk. What???

I immediately started looking at alternative milk options that had just as much protein and calcium as dairy milk.

I was floored when I found Ripple at our local grocery store, Meijer. It’s also sold at Target.

How’s this for comparison:

  • Protein: Dairy 8g, Ripple 8g
  • Calcium: Dairy 30%, Ripple 45%
  • Sugar: Dairy 12g, Ripple 0g
  • Iron: Dairy 0%, Ripple 15%
  • Vitamin D: Dairy 25%, Ripple 30%
  • Vitamin A: Dairy 10%, Ripple 10%
  • Vitamin C: Dairy 4%, Ripple 0%

Ripple is lactose free, nut free, gluten free, 100% vegan, and has 32mg Omega 3’s! Β Amazing, right?! The protein comes from pea protein…yep the legume!

If you follow me on Instagram, you may have seen my story about Ripple plant milk.

Ripple was kind enough to send me some coupons for free sample 48oz. bottles, a hat and a market bag.

I gave it a try and my daughter had a little too. She likes it better than dairy milk. I thought I’d try it too even though peas are a food to avoid on the candida diet. The nut milk I drink doesn’t have much protein in it. I sadly had a Candida flare up after drinking Ripple (kind of a duh moment). It’s probably something that would have to be limited for me, just as fruit is. I stick with mostly berries for their lower sugar content. I did make a great post-workout smoothie with Ripple as the base. I added 2 tablespoons hemp protein to a little fruit.


There is one ingredient that has me thinking I’m not going to purchase Ripple again…Dipotassium Phosphate. Research has me kind of up in the air about its safety or place even being in our food, despite what the FDA says about its safety.

Honestly, there isn’t a single 100% perfect milk out on the market. Every single one has a downside. So we are all sticking with what we originally were drinking before Ripple until I can find an option that I’m 100% happy with. We all have a low sugar diet, so it’s probably not the end of the world that the dairy milk stays in our house for the time being.

That being said, I’d be happy to send some coupons to anyone interested in trying Ripple! Just send me a message through the contact form.

Leave a Reply

