10k or Half Marathon?

I’m laughing now, but not long ago I was fuming mad. Last year in November I registered for Gazelle Girl Half Marathon and the River Bank 25k. Fast forward to February of this year, and I found myself reading medical journals and doing online research on excessive exercise and the heart because my dad unexpectedly had a heart attack. I decided to back down from the long distance races and focus on heart health with 10k or less runs. So the beginning of March I got online and transferred from the 25k down to the 10k and then read (it must have been on their website because I can’t find any emails) that for event transfer for Gazelle you’d need to pick up your bib and bring it to a special table at the expo to get a new 10k bib. Ok, great!…I thought it I was all good!

Then I saw that the Gazelle 10k was sold out. It made me wonder what happens to all the people that are planning on the 10k but purchased a half bib? It got me thinking though about how much I love the Gazelle half. So I contacted the race director. Looks like their policy must have changed between the beginning of March and now because I was basically told I have no choice but to run the half or defer to next year.πŸ™ˆ I skipped speed work in training in favor for easy runs thinking I had no reason to be focusing on speed anymore because Nashville is just a go for fun race….so this half I have no idea what to expect. I love Gazelle though, so I am excited to run it once more.


I recently ran a 2:11 half in training for my last half (Rock ‘n’ Roll Nashville), so I’m hoping for that or better but we will see what unconventional training does for me 😬.

2 thoughts on “10k or Half Marathon?

Leave a Reply

