Health update

I thought it was time for a little health update. It’s been about three months now since my food sensitivities and Candida overgrowth diagnosis, and I am feeling better than I have in a long time! I have pretty much figured out through trial and error what foods are the biggest culprits to my gastrointestinal distress after going through the list of foods they said my body reacts to (plus others that weren’t tested). So far I’ve found these foods cause the most problems: corn, bananas (😒), garlic, wine (mostly sweet ones), kombucha (😭), and cashews. I am sad I had to put kombucha back on the list! And I’ll probably never get over the fact that bananas make me bloat up like a balloon. Fingers crossed that side affect goes away eventually…I was eating them 2-3x a day haha!


I have plans to have some corn shell tacos as my post race meal after the Nashville half, and I’m already excited about it! πŸ˜‚ haha No clue how I’ll feel since I’ve done pretty good avoiding it the past few months. But I have high hopes I’ll be fine and I just needed a break from those foods. If not, I’ll just know what to expect if I have them and continue to do my best to avoid them.

If you’re having GI issues, I’d highly recommend seeing a Naturopathic doctor (if your regular primary care physician can’t do the testing) and getting food sensitivities and Candida tested. Remember, food allergies and food sensitivities are quite different. It wasn’t cheap for the tests, but for what I learned and how I feel now it was well worth the money.

Leave a Reply

