Week in Review: Jan. 22-28

This week was a big one for me with my plank goals! I finally broke 4 minutes! I was so thrilled after I saw the 4. I collapsed and hung out on the floor for a few minutes after ๐Ÿ˜‚.

Here’s how my week went:

Sunday – Rest day. Walked 3 miles on the treadmill. Planked 1:00×3 with 30 seconds recovery between.

Monday – Ran 5 miles (1 warm up, 3 at 9:31, 1 cool down). Did about 15 minutes worth of hip dips, sit ups, push ups….not a lot or probably the right stuff, but a start to getting stronger and hopefully a little closer to that 5 minute plank. Planked: 3:01.

Tuesday – Rest day. Walked 3.5 miles. Planked 3:27.

Wednesday – Ran 6 easy miles to clear my head from a rough morning. Planked 1 minute x 3 with a 10lb. weight on my back (per a suggestion I received on Instagram for making non-weighted planks feel easier).

Thursday – Biked 30 easy + a repeat of Monday’s arms/core exercises. Walked 3 miles. Planked 4:01!!!! <— Yessss!!! Finally made some progress!

Friday – Ran 7 at 9:46 pace (6.5 miles of hill repeats) with my mom. Such a cold windy day! We got hit hard by the snow going up hill, but it felt a lot better coming down with the wind to our backs. Planked 1 minute with a 25lb. weight on my back, went to try for round 2 and I made it to about 25 seconds and the weight fell off and woke up my husband who had just fallen asleep ๐Ÿ˜‚…oops! So I put the 10lb.weight back on and did two x 1 minute planks.

And a side note, I bought a pair of Old Navy’s Go-warm tights because they were super cheap and my legs were still cold and tingly during my run with them on (basically above the compression socks). In the past few weeks I also tried doubling up on regular running tights and had basically the same feeling. So maybe the go-warm paired with one regular pair is the solution? ๐Ÿ˜œ The go-warm might have been ok if it hadn’t been so windy. It’s not like it’s a crippling cold feeling though, so I might just forget about spending money on other options.

Saturday – Biked 30 minutes easy to medium efforts + walked 3 miles. Planked 1 minute x 3 (no weights this time) with 30 seconds recovery between. My muscles felt pretty fatigue today. Definitely ready for rest day!

We almost made it through January!๐Ÿ˜ฎ That much closer to spring! ๐Ÿ™Œ๐Ÿผ๐ŸŽ‰ I’m looking forward to planting grass and having a yard here at our new house, enjoying meals outside on the deck, taking family walks on the boardwalk, getting some bike rides in off the trainer.

What are you looking forward to this spring?

Leave a Reply

