Health update

I mentioned earlier last month in a blog post that I haven’t been feeling great lately. I started feeling like almost everything I ate would make me sick. You may have seen my post on Instagram where I briefly gave an update on my blood test results.

But, basically I found out I had food sensitivities to 39 different foods.๐Ÿ˜ฑ And I tested positive for Candida overgrowth.

Here’s what I learned. You should be rotating your foods. Do not eat the same foods every day. The ‘meal prep’ pictures that are all over Instagram where people prepare the same foods to be eaten for several days in a row might sound like a good idea…healthy food already prepared! But no, you’re looking for health problems doing that. You shouldn’t be eating the same things day in and day out. Rotation is key so you don’t develop food sensitivities like I did.

I often made a salad for lunch with a base of kale, tomato, onion, and chia seeds. I did switch up what other ingredients I would throw in, depending on what I had on hand. But guess what showed up on my sensitivities list? You guessed it…ALL of those things (and then some!).
Gluten is not on my list because I’ve been GF for several years. Most of the items on the list are foods I consumed every week, if not daily. I used turmeric and cinnamon every.single.day. I probably over dosed on almonds because I was rotating between almond and cashew milk, and eating them on salads and for snacks, almond butter, and they are in many Larabars.

Now what? I went to a Naturopath doctor and she suggested I take anti-fungals in addition to the probiotics I already have for the Candida overgrowth. However, it was completely up to me. I am in a gray area because numbers over 100 are considered overgrowth and my IgG (the chronic overgrowth) was 168, and my IgM (recent Candida overgrowth) was 124. So, they’re on the lower end of being ‘abnormal.’

The fact that my food sensitivities came back with so many, I am going to first focus on that. I will be eliminating all the 2 and 3 star items as well as the 1 star items that I consumed daily. For 1 star rating, I have been instructed to eliminate them for 3 months. The 2 star items should be eliminated for 4 months, and the 3 star for 5 months. I had a few 2 star and one 3 star item, with the rest at 1’s. Interestingly enough, my booklet says the 1 star items can cause more symptoms than the 3 star items and, “the number of antibodies just gives us a way to decide how long a person should avoid the food in order to decrease the antibodies and symptoms.”After that period of time, I can begin to reintroduce the foods one at a time and only one food per 4 days. If I react, I remove the food again. If not, I can reintroduce a second food.

I’m hoping the Candida really isn’t much of an issue because that’s a whole other set of restrictions. I am trying to maintain 80/20 Candida diet while going through my food sensitivities elimination, but am trying not to stress about it if that doesn’t happen. Stress can affect Candida levels as well!

So I have lots of information to review and prepare for this big diet change. I’m very hopeful it will bring me some relief. I’m looking forward to writing an update post down the road. Until then, learn from me and my mistakes. Rotate your foods! ๐Ÿ˜Š

Leave a Reply

