Week in Review: Jan. 1-7

Anyone else super excited for 2017?! Last year my focus was on getting that marathon PR, and this year it’s on the half marathon. I’m working my way to a sub-2 hour half. Although I thinkย realistically it’s not in the cards this year, I still want to make some big strides in knocking my time down to get closer to that time. It’s a journey and a process! I’m just learning to love it ๐Ÿ˜Š. Check out my Goals + Race Schedule for 2017 for more details.

Last week was a bit of a week off (I only ran 2x and they were short runs). I got sick, along with my husband and kiddo too. I got scared as I felt it moving to my chest, but then it was back to my throats and then nose. It was all over the place…I was a mess! ๐Ÿ˜‚ I’m feeling loads better now.

Here’s a peak at week 1 of 2017!

Sunday (1) – Ran 3.1 miles in 25:35 (8:15 pace) ๐Ÿ™Œ๐Ÿผ. That’s my fastest 5k on a treadmill ever. I’m looking forward to doing a time trial this spring when there isn’t snow and ice! Planked: 2 minutes.

Monday (2) – 40 minutes on the bike trainer and a long walk on the beach and boardwalk. Planked: 2:11.

Tuesday (3) – So siiiiick. This has got to be the strangest cold ever. One day it feels like it’s moving to my chest, the next it’s in my throat, then to nose, and back to chest. It’s irritating being sick! Planked: 2:14.

Wednesday (4) – Planked 2:16. Another Rest day. ๐Ÿคง๐Ÿค’

Thursday (5) – Started feeling better! Ran 3.1 miles outside and got to test out my Yaktrax, Shoe Hoodies, and Lumo Run sensor. Both the yaktrax and the shoe hoodies worked amazingly, and I enjoyed using the Lumo Run sensor. I’m excited to see if I can really change my form using the product. Planked 2:25.

Friday (6) – Ran 7 miles on the treadmill and tested out my Lumo Run sensor again. Worked on improving my cadence and nailed the target cadence! ๐Ÿ™Œ๐Ÿผ Planked 2:00. I could feel my back starting to lower, so I stopped. I’d say it’s better to maintain good form than continue with poor form. I’m also coming to the realization that I will not always move up in time every single day. It’s a journey and a process to get to that 5 min. goal!ย 

Saturdayย (7) – Up and on the bike at 5:30am! Not the norm for me, but I got in 10 miles before I had to hop off to get ready for one last (late) holiday party. Planked 2:40.

Did you set any fitness goals for 2017? What are you most looking forward to this year (fitness related)? I think I’m most excited to see how I do at the Gazelle Girl Half and I’m excited to just have a good time in Nashville again! ๐Ÿ˜Š

Leave a Reply

