Why my energy is lacking lately

I’m still shocked I’ve been able to make it through my regular workouts with how I feel when I get up and how I feel in the late afternoon.

Who has heard of Candida overgrowth? Chances are not many people have. Candida is the most common cause of fungal infections and I only know about it because people in my family battle it. I’m not sure if that’s what my gastrointestinal issues have been caused by lately, but I’ve been on this restrictive diet to kill off the bad bacteria and have felt loads better since…except for the lack of energy that has suddenly hit me like a ton of bricks. I told my mom about how I was feeling and she said it’s a ‘thing’ and actually has a term – a Herxheimer reaction, when there is a rapid dying off of the bacteria. But, I also think I haven’t been eating as frequently …simply because nothing on the list sounds good as a snack (for lunch or dinner, sure!). I am so used to eating fruit, carrots and hummus or some sweet potatoe crackers for a snack and can’t have those things now. I have been eating  the gluten free nuts and seeds on the safe list now (and in all honesty, almond butter straight from the jar 😜), which I have always had in my diet but not in this quantity haha!

You have to avoid sugar (in the cleansing phase, all fruit too — I still use Nuun though – it’s sweetened with stevia and munk fruit), yeast, vinegar (so condiments and salsa are out), alcohol, dairy, caffeine, starchy vegetables like carrots, potatoes, peas, parsnips, and many grains. Sounds like a nightmare for a runner, right?! No sugar and less carbs?? No more pitted dates for running fuel for a while, and my gluten free bread and pasta are out for the time being.

I don’t know if the lack of energy is just a coincidence or not. But I know I have found some foods that I am sensitive to. Sadly WINE is near the top for worst offenders (insomnia, GI issues, and itchy skin). Beans are are a close second with the GI problems. I’m hoping with this diet ‘cleanse’ that the side affects won’t be as bad down the road when I do have a glass or two of wine or a Mexican dish with black beans or hummus.

Breakfast is usually some hot buckwheat cereal with a little almond butter, cinnamon and a pinch of stevia (I miss bananas!). Lunch lately has mostly been salad with sardines (don’t say ewww until you’ve tried the ones from Costco! They’re de-boned, packed in olive oil, and in a BPA free can) or quinoa, plus some veggie toppings that often included any of the following: radishes, onions, green peppers, tomatoes, avocado and cucumbers. If I have the fish, I am usually good until dinner. If I have quinoa, I’m usually hungry by 3pm and exhausted. Dinner is pretty basic and simple with chicken or turkey and one of the approved veggies like broccoli, asparagus, or rutabaga plus some mixed greens.

I battle psoriasis and since going on the Candida diet, my skins ‘itch factor’ has improved dramatically. But, I am still having GI issues…just not as bad. So I’m just trying to figure this all out.

In the meantime, you’ll probably find me on the couch in the late afternoon when my energy suddenly drops. 😴


I just found a recipe for some coconut flour crackers and I’m going to try making those and eat them with some homemade guacamole (if they’re not too coconut tasting) for another snack idea. If you’ve had to do this diet too, what were some of your favorite snacks?

2 thoughts on “Why my energy is lacking lately

  1. Sorry to hear you’re dealing with this. Hope you’re better soon. Over the last 6 months I’ve had to become a better detective of my diet because I’ve had some unexplained stomach issues. It seems that dairy as well as pre-packaged produce are major culprits. I’ve gone organic with salads and that has helped. I’ve eliminated cheese and yogurt (never really drank milk), and that also seems to help. Still investigating a few things but this diet you’re having to follow seems quite restrictive. would be difficult for me!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Marsha! I feel great today, so hopefully that feeling continues. Sorry you’ve had some stomach issues as well. I know dairy is a problem for many. That’s great you’re eating organic too. Our grocery bills are insane because we eat off the dirty dozen list for the most part. The only dairy I have is the rare serving of cheese (usually on homemade pizza), so that hasn’t been hard to cut for me. I miss my fruit and sweet potatoes and hummus the most. You’re right though, it’s very restrictive. All those things feed Candida, so cutting it out starves the bacteria. I have high hopes this will all be over soon and I can start to introduce some of the banned foods again. I hope you’re feeling better too now. It’s tough to play investigator for these food issues!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

