Thoughts From My Long Run

Forgive me for the lack of photos on this one…almost didn’t post it now because I had nothing haha! On Saturday my husband and I went down in miles for marathon #2 training (14 down to 10, per the plan). But, we increased the pace a bit more than the suggested pacing. I learned/realized a lot during this run. Forgive me as I wrote this with pretty free-flowing thoughts…

Positives

  • My hydration pack love is strong ;)! I love having Nuun/water and fuel/nutrition on the go (and a place to put my phone) without having to hold it all. It’s been so great the past few months!
  • We had a little breeze that picked up part way through and it provided a little relief from the heat.
  • We got out in the morning well before the storms hit!
  • My husband is so encouraging when it gets tough, not just today’s run but every time we run together and I start hurting. Nothing beats the support of family!
  • I promise this is a positive, even though it won’t start that way. Our goal was MP, but I wanted to run at MP (10:18 — NOT what I plan to actually run the marathon at!) and feel like I could increase my pace a lot and still feel good. Why? Because I have an 8 mile race in a few weeks and to PR I need to top 1:17:57 (9:44 pace). Although we kept a good pace, I felt like it was a struggle. I began to dwell on it during the run. And then when I hit stop and save on my watch when we hit 10 miles, I had a moment of clarity. It’s obvious I’m not a “fast” runner, but I couldn’t even imagine running 10 miles at 10:11 a few years ago. I have come a long way, and I will keep working at improving — because it makes me happy! We all have hard runs that might get us in a negative head space, but those runs that feel effortless or even finishing a tough run knowing that I gave it my all really does bring me joy. I felt much happier when I looked at the big picture. A PR might not be in the cards for me this year, as training for an 8 mile and a marathon are quite different! But, I will still try.

The Not-so Positives:

  • I tested out eating a different breakfast (because never try something new on race day, right?!) because I just felt like a change. Well, I found oatmeal is a no-go for me on running days. I had the most painful cramps that took a good mile to start to feel better.
  • The PR goal I set back in January for the 8 mile in a few weeks looks like it’s going to be quite unrealistic this year. Training for a marathon and a shorter distance is basically impossible. Much respect to Mr. Galen Rupp (I loved cheering him on during the Olympics)! Not to say I won’t give it my all, but considering how I felt today I just don’t see it happening. And that’s ok. My marathon goals are much more important to me right now.
  • Body Glide wore off after about 7.5 miles and I started chaffing under my left arm again. I’ve also tried vaseline and aquaphor in the past with no relief. The aquaphor I think did help in healing a bit, but it didn’t prevent the chaffing. I’m going to buy some Ruby’s Lube soon to try that out. I’m getting desperate and thinking about putting a bandage over the spot in the meantime. I don’t know if that could make matters worse or not, but it’s worth a shot.

A lot of the time when I run, I just zone out and don’t really think about anything in particular (ha! That sounds kind of funny). However, this run my mind was all over the place. When you go out for a run, are you a thinker? Or do you like to just ‘zone out’? Or do you focus on breathing, pacing, etc.?

3 thoughts on “Thoughts From My Long Run

  1. I try to do some or part of my long run with a partner or two, so we talk along the way and the miles go more quickly and easily. A couple of years ago, I started running with music (can’t believe I hadn’t done that in the past!), so that helps. But I often pray and think and come up with a lot of ideas, craft blogs and posts in my head on long runs. I rarely focus on breathing and pace and technical stuff.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

