Week in Review: Aug. 14-20

I ended up treadmilling 2 of the 3 runs this week, which was unexpected. But, it was still a good week. I had some mixed emotions about the long run, but quickly became at peace with it when I looked at the big picture.

Here’s how this week went…

Sunday – Rest day

Monday – Ran 8 miles on the treadmill. Training plan had me scheduled for 1 easy, 6 at long tempo pace (9:42), 1 easy. So I did just that (the LT miles were 9:40’s because that’s the closest I could get to suggested pace.) I had to take the shirt off part way through because I got so hot! 😜

Tuesday – “Ladder” Bike ride for 30 minutes. This one always goes by so quick because I’m constantly keeping an eye on where I’m at on time since it changes so frequently.

Wednesday – Ran 5.5 miles total on the treadmill. I had full intentions of running outside today, but I stayed up way too late watching the Olympics (story of my life lately). So, when my alarm went off I naturally turned it off and went back to sleep. It was too muggy so I modified the speed workout today to make it work a bit easier on the treadmill (recovery period was supposed to be 90 seconds, but I made it in distance at .10 so I wouldn’t have to keep doing math the entire run ha! 1 mile warm-up + 6×800’s with a tenth of a mile easy running recovery between (except the last repeat where I went into the mile easy running cool down).

Thursday – Biked 50 minutes (10 easy, 20 tempo, 5 easy, 10 tempo, 5 easy). I really like this workout! There’s not a ton of up and down in pace, but it’s just enough to make it interesting.IMG_9863

Friday – Rest day. Drywall was started at the new house! It’s crazy what a difference that makes in the overall feel. It’s getting real!IMG_9910

Saturday – Ran 10 miles (10:11 avg. pace). I was a little sad we weren’t increasing in miles for our long run today lol! But this was a good little breather. And it was good that we didn’t have to go farther with the weather looking a little unpredictable. It didn’t feel too bad out when we stepped outside, so I opted to keep the shirt on ;). About 1.5 miles in, the sweat faucet turned on though and I wished I had ditched it lol. IMG_9933We decided to go against my training plan a bit and instead of running at MP+15 sec/mile, I thought we’d just shoot for MP. We ended up at 7 seconds per mile faster than MP.

After our run we got cleaned up and headed out to our new house because I forgot my paint samples there last night and totally forgot to even look at them while we were there. We stayed for a bit talking about various things as it down poured. Good thing we’re getting gutters!

IMG_9938

Then my mom texted me saying there was a tornado warning and one had been spotted in Fennville (south of us) and it was moving north at 30mph. So went home and hung out in the basement until the storm had passed. So scary! There ended up being a few tornados in the area, but it basically missed where we live and missed our new house too. We just had lots of rain, so we are all safe!

I’m looking forward to next weekend’s 15 miler. I haven’t run that far since the 25k I did in May. We’re scheduled to run that one at MP+30 sec./mile (10:48 pace). That’s basically the same pace we did for our 14 miler, so it should feel as easy as that distance could feel (pending a continuation of rough weather!).

Who has been watching the Olympic coverage? What’s your favorite sports to watch? I’m sad it’s coming to a close, but it’s been fun to watch this year! I am such a sucker for the women’s gymnastics! Those ladies were amazing! Funny story, I was obsessed with Shannon Miller (part of the 1996 Gold Medal team) when I was younger and got my hair permed to look like her LOL! I have crazy thick hair…it wasn’t my best look ;). I need to dig up a picture to add to this haha!

3 thoughts on “Week in Review: Aug. 14-20

    • Thanks, Ali! I’m with ya! It’s been so fun to watch, but I need more sleep haha! No, my treadmill is in our basement…yes, I still got overheated in the A/C haha! I just go outside for pics because it’s more fun than the basement 😜.

      Like

Leave a Reply

