Week in Review: July 31 – Aug. 6

This was a record breaking week for me! My tempo and speed runs were pretty solid and my long run I did something that I’ve never been able to do before, so I ended the week very happy. ๐Ÿ™‚

Sunday – Biked 10 min. easy, 30 minutes tempo. No pics from today.

Monday – Rest day.

Tuesday – Ran 5 miles on the treadmill (1 mile warm up, 1 mile at 8:41, 1/4 mile easy, 1 mile at 8:41, 1/4 mile easy, 1 mile at 8:41, 1/2 mile cool down). I had some shin pain following Troutarama (my guess is from the uneven rocky dirt road and pushing it up the hills), so I wore some kinesiology tape for a few days and worked on shin stretching (not the toe touches below lol). The shin pain is gone now, so I’m relieved :).
Wednesday – 30 minutes on the bike trainer. 5 minutes easy, 3x (6 min tempo, 1 easy), 4 easy. I had a mixed berry + hemp protein smoothie afterwards.IMG_9352.jpg

Thursday – 6 mile tempo run. My plan had it written out as an easy 2 mile warm-up, 3 miles at short tempo (goal of a 9:12 pace), and then anย easy 1 mile cool down. My actual paces for the ST were (9:14, 9:07, 9:13). Not terrible, but definitely room for improvement with that middle one. I was actually pretty happy I got that close with the other two.DCIM100GOPROG0243660.

Friday – Rest day. I’m up to my eyeballs in color choices right now for the new house. But, I think we made our choices! I grabbed some gray subway tiles for the kitchen backsplash but decided to just go with white with a medium dark grout because I couldn’t find a gray paint color that complimented it. We’re doing white cabinets, so it’ll be a pretty bright clean kitchen.IMG_9379

Saturday – Ran 13.1 miles with my husband. This was his first time ever running that distance and he did awesome! It was a big day for me too, as I have always needed to stop for water or a stretch break, or stop at the top of a hill…but thatย didn’t happen this time! I ran all 13.1 miles! Wohoo! Besides for being stronger than last year, being more aware of my pacing has been huge for me on these long runs already.IMG_9432.JPGLast marathon training I was running far too fast for my long runs, and I know I got burnt out. We did some hills in this run too as our last long run didn’t have much elevation gain. I definitely felt the difference too. This week felt significantly more challenging. We did do a 2 mile jump up in miles from last week too, which doesn’t happen very often. I had some knee soreness and tightness in my hips, but otherwise felt good. I foam rolled my hips and iced my knees at home. Other than the soreness, the only other issue I had was running out of water before the end. I only put in 24 oz. of water with 1.5 Nuun tabs in my hydration pack and blew through that by mile 11.75-ish. Lesson learned! Definitely need to add more for next weekend. It was pretty hot out, but not as bad as it was earlier in the week. I was still hunting out sprinklers and running through them lol!

Saturday, afternoon was spent poolside! My husband and I immediately got in the pool after our run. It’s such a great reward after sweating it out in the heat! Then we came back after lunch to go for a swim and hang out. Ourย daughter is a little fish! ๐Ÿ™‚

I hope you all had a great weekend thus far! What did/do you have planned for the weekend? Are you training for anything right now?

Leave a Reply

