1-Year Anniversary of 1st Triathlon!

This is just my Tuesday night ramblings…

Yesterday was the 1 year anniversary of my first trifb IMG_2216

I’ve been doing a LOT of thinking about the sport of triathlon lately. Immediately after the race I wasn’t sure if I wanted to improve upon my sprint time, or try a new distance. I just knew I wanted to do more of them. After a while, I decided I wanted to go big and do the 70.3. After riding in the Holland 100, and having a crummy experience, I began to re-think what I wanted.

Why do I do what I do? I love a challenge, but I also have to enjoy it. The Holland 100 showed me I definitely do NOT like super long bike rides. I know I really enjoy riding 30-ish miles and riding 50-ish is not awful. So, I’d probably be happy (or at least not miserable – ha!) with a 70.3 bike ride if it wasn’t a super hilly course. But, maybe not?

Do I do an Olympic distance and see how I like that before deciding on the 70.3? This is something I’m leaning towards now. It’s not that I’m afraid of a 70.3 distance, it’s that I’m afraid I wouldn’t enjoy it. Being miserable for several hours isn’t worth it to me. I have to enjoy it to some degree. If I do the Olympic distance and love it and think a 70.3 sounds fun, I’ll sign up.

In two months, registration opens for a local tri that has both a 70.3 and Olympic distance. So, I’m about 85% sure right now I’m going to sign up for the Olympic for 2017. I’ll update in October :).

Leave a Reply

