Week in Review: June 26 – July 2

The first week of marathon training has come and gone!

Sunday – Biked 60 minutes (10 easy, 20 at 17-18mph, 10 easy, 10 at 18-19mph, 10 easy). This is longer than my plan called for, but I’m modifying the bike workouts until the century ride is over with (making at least one of the two a longer ride).

Monday – Track repeats (not on a track) – 3x1600m with 400m recovery intervals. I did the 10 min. warm-up and 2 of the 3 repeats outside before I decided to finish it out on the treadmill for my own safety. I had the chills and it was hot and sticky out! I’m usually good about drinking enough before a workout, but I definitely was behind in it and the heat just took me out. Since I have to do one of my two week-day runs on the treadmill, I’m choosing from now on to do these speed workouts inside and do my tempo and long runs outside.DCIM100GOPROG0012268.

Tuesday – Rest day.

Wednesday – Biked 32 minutes (10 easy, 3x (2 min. hard, 2 min. easy), 10 easy).IMG_8111

Thursday – Tempo run – 2 easy, 2 short tempo (9:13 pace), 2 easy. I don’t mind tempo runs. They’re intense enough to make me feel like I’m really working, but I don’t feel like I’m going to die like I do for track repeats.

Friday – Rest day.

Saturday – Ran 8 miles (10:24 pace) at the cottage with my husband. We were about 24 seconds faster per mile than what we were ‘supposed’ to run. It felt good and easy though and I suppose that’s the goal on these long runs. I cannot put into words how much I LOVE these long runs — I mean looks at the pure joy on our faces!DCIM100GOPROG0032367. After a few weeks of doing some of the workouts from this marathon plan to ease into it, I definitely determined I’m a long and slow girl vs. short and fast! Speed work is really tough and I dread Monday’s now because I know those track repeats are on the to-do’s, but I know they’re a necessary evil in this whole process.

Would you rather run a short distance fast, or a long distance slower?

Happy 4th of July! Have a fun and safe day today, friends!

4 thoughts on “Week in Review: June 26 – July 2

  1. Tough question. Both workouts make me feel like I worked hard. Each gives the sense of accomplishment. But at the end of the day, I’m a cardio junkie and like the long run, so probably slower long run….especially if I have good company along the way 😉 Did you set up your trainer outside? I was stuck in my basement on the trainer this morning. Rainy, wet and foggy outside!

    Like

    • I agree! It’s not like I’m not working hard when I do a long slow run, it’s just a different kind of a challenge. I did set up my trainer outside once this week! I had never done that before and always wanted to do it. It’s kind of a pain to lug it all upstairs and outside, but it was a nice change.

      Like

Leave a Reply

