Week in Review: April 17-23

I still can’t believe I ran Gazelle on Sunday! It’s very unlike me to do anything last minute –ย and registering 4 days before is last minute to me. Pretty happy with my time, especially considering I technically had only trained up to 11 miles. It might be taking me a while, but I am slowly knocking some time off the clock.

Sunday – Gazelle Girl Half Marathon! I am pretty much in the middle of the photo blue/lime green top and white visor (…I zoomed in and I’ve got my determination face on lol). Official time: 2:14:01. AG finish:ย 183 of 352. Overall: 909 of 2045.gazellegirlgroup.jpg

Monday – Rest day. I ran a bunch of errands and ended up joining my mom for a walk to and through a local park (a little over 3 miles). I also planted some succulents that my sister gave me…we refer to her as the crazy plant lady ๐Ÿ˜‚.ย 

Tuesday – Rest day. Lower calf hurt has beenย hurting, especially first thing in the morning getting out of bed. I was hobbling on it for a bit in the morning. It hurts if I sit and then stand up to walk. I had my husband help me apply some kinesiology tape to help the pain. I walked 3.1 miles on the treadmill to get some steps in.

Wednesday – 3 mile walk with my dog in the afternoon + 30 minute easy bike in the evening with my hubby.

Thursday – 3.1 mile run + 2 mile walk with my dog. Nearly pain free! So happy my calf is feeling much better. I love the flowering trees that have recently bloomed. So pretty! My husband and I closed on our construction loan today also. I’m SOOO excited about that! Looking forward to watching some progress being made out there.ย 
Friday – Rest day. Calf feels 100% better now! My right knee that was sore during the race is sore again since my run on Thursday. But, otherwise I feel good now. I took my dog for a 2 mile walk. She is LOVING that we’re back at our daily walk routine. She definitely missed it this winter! It looked like it was going to rain so I walked a mile on the treadmill at home when we got back to get my step count up a bit more.

Saturday – Ran 8 miles with my mom. Love that blue sky and sunshine! I decided to stick with my mom for the race next weekend, so I came out to join her on our taper long run. We ran one big hill and a few little rolling ones. I thought I was going to die on the big one (I didn’t stop though!)…perhaps my legs haven’t fully recovered from last weekend. No knee or calf pain on the run though, so that’s great! I felt pretty good when we finished, so hopefully taking it just a little slower than I normally go will mean I’ll feel good at the finish and I’ll be a little bit more ready for my 25k that’s 2 weeks after.I had a big ol’ plate of yummies after I got home and cleaned up. Quinoa, kale, cabbage, peppers, radishes, cucumbers, carrots, and one of the organic guac containers from Costco. Sprinkled it with a little s/p + tumeric…’cause this girl needs all the anti-inflammatory help she can get!

That’s a wrap! It’s hard to believe it’s race week (again! haha). What a crazy couple weeks I’m having. These 3 races in 27 days!ย It’ll be good to cool it for a little bit after the 25k and slowly transition over to fall marathon training (insert anxiety here ๐Ÿ˜ฌ).

When is your next race? What one are you most looking forward to this year?

3 thoughts on “Week in Review: April 17-23

  1. good job on the race! My next one is Indy Mini in 2 weeks. Then I’ll be going to chicago for a half on the 22nd. Haven’t done that one before. This will be my 20something time doing Indy. I’m looking forward to Chicago because I’m doing it with Team Momentum to raise funds for MDA and this will be my first time for the event.

    Like

Leave a Reply

