Week in Review: April 10-16

What a week! I made a pretty last minute decision to run a half on the 17th, so I ended up with an extra rest day the end of the week.

Here’s what I did this week:

Sunday – Biked 50 minutes on the trainer.

I said on Instagram that I’d share the interval workout I did, so I typed it up below. My “hard” efforts were 20-22 mph and easy was usually around 14mph (but would fluctuate depending on how I was feeling)…just do what works for you.

  • 10 minute easy warm-up
  • 1 minute hard effort + 1 minute easy effort
  • 2 minutes hard effort + 1 minute easy effort
  • 3 minutes hard effort + 1 minute easy effort
  • 4 minutes hard effort + 1 minute easy effort
  • 5 minutes hard effort + 1 minute easy effort
  • 4 minutes hard effort + 1 minute easy effort
  • 3 minutes hard effort + 1 minute easy effort
  • 2 minutes hard effort + 1 minute easy effort
  • 1 minute hard effort
  • 7 minute easy cool-down

Monday – Rest day.

Tuesday – Ran 4 miles (9:01 pace) on the treadmill. 

Wednesday – Biked 30 minutes of speed/recovery intervals in the evening with my husband. I texted him in the afternoon because my ambition took a nose dive and told him he needed to bike with me tonight or I probably wouldn’t do it lol! We got through it :). 

Thursday – Ran 3.1 miles on the trails (had some shin pain that thankfully was just a fluke thing. No shin pain during race on Sunday.) It was beautiful out!

Friday – Rest day.

Saturday – I was originally going to run with a local running club Saturday. The guy that runs my pace ended up signing up for a relay race, so he couldn’t make it. And, the majority of the women were going to be doing an all women’s race on Sunday so they weren’t going to be there either. After some contemplating, I decided to sign up for the Gazelle Girl Half Marathon! So Saturday ended up being a rest day as well.

My legs are pretty sore from this morning’s race (recap coming soon!), so I plan on taking at least one (probably 2) days off of everything.

I’m so excited race season is really getting underway! Are you trying any new races this year?

2 thoughts on “Week in Review: April 10-16

    • Thanks, Ali! It’s pretty much done, but I’m waiting until the official race photos are posted (end of the week)…they’re usually pretty awful lol, but I did see one photographer and have high hopes I don’t look like I’m in misery ;).

      Like

Leave a Reply

