Week in Review – March 27 – April 2

Another week closer to race day! AND I didn’t have to use the treadmill all week! wohoo yay for outdoor running! That excitement faded as we got SNOW on Saturday. For real. Seriously, Michigan? haha Well, hopefully this week will be the last of it.

Here’s what this past week looked like.

Sunday – Easter! We split the holiday between my in-laws and my parents house for some quality family time :).

Monday – I woke up not feeling great, so opted to catch up on household chores and take an extra rest day. I spent 20 minutes in the evening doing a ‘bedtime yoga’ video on YouTube in my lounge wear 😜 in effort to sleep well.

Tuesday – I ran 4 miles on some trails, not focusing on speed or anything else…just went out to reconnect with my love of running. It seems I had lost it momentarily while focusing too much on the ‘schedule’ of training.  Sunshine and the trails always are good reminders for me. Ended that with a smile on my face and ready to tackle the rest of the week. Glad I kept my Forerunner watch. I realize in the morning I only had a couple percent battery left on my Fenix, and decided I wanted to fully use up the battery before charging (in effort to keep it lasting as long as it has). So, I used the Forerunner so I at least knew my distance.

Wednesday – I generally don’t run back to back days (usually bike in between), but the weather had me switch things up this week. I ran 3.1 miles (9:06 avg pace) doing half mile sprint/recovery intervals.

Thursday – Rest day.

Friday – Ended up doing my long run Friday instead of Saturday. 11 miles with about the same elevation gain as last week (doing 3 long sections of hills), but a little faster pace this week! I was sad I couldn’t run with the group (thanks to the threat of frostbite again). But, hopefully I can join next weekend. I did stop at the top of the hill each time to take some organic pitted dates and my Nuun. I was pretty happy to not have any bad stomach issues this run!

Saturday – I biked 50 minutes in the evening – my only cross session this week. That’s just the way it works out sometimes. My left knee and a little part of my left leg (top left side of calf…feels like it’s just inflammation). Needless to say it is a bit sore from Friday’s hills, so I took it a little easier than I normally do focusing on turnover rate in low gears. Lots of icing and stretching happening here!
THIS is why I ran Friday and skipped out on Saturday’s group run. Ew. Usually pretty, but in April I’d say it’s pretty disgusting. We were biking outside a week ago! lol Oooh Michigan, you’re always throwing us curveballs. 

The extended forecast has more of the “s” word in it. Let’s hope that is the last of it and we can get back to more spring like temperatures! Here’s to a great week ahead (even if most workouts are inside!).

Four weeks until my half marathon and then two weeks later I’ve got a 25k! Lots to look forward to! 🙂

Leave a Reply

