Week in Review – March 13 – 19

Awesome week! I got some good workouts in, some really challenging, and got our fall marathon training plans a bit more set. I spent a bit of time this week re-working my husband and I’s training schedule. It can be tricky training for a big race when you have a child (or children), as childcare has to be planned out in advance — especially now that we BOTH are running this race. I had to re-work it because we’re likely doing a 100 mile organized bike ride in July, so that’s one weekend day plus a few more for some longer kid-free rides. We’re so lucky to have both sets of grandparents pretty close by, and they’ll be helping us out for some of our weekend long runs and bike rides. I was going through our plans for my husband’s vacation days, and we realized we had a few days that we didn’t have ‘plans’ for. So we decided to use them on a few Friday’s towards the end of training to get our long run in while our daughter is in school. Thus, opening up our weekend for more time all together as a family. Yay! It will be so cool having our daughter and my parents at the finish line cheering us both on!

Here’s this week in photos….

Sunday – 40 minutes of intervals on the bike trainer with my husband. So much more fun doing this as a “team” vs. alone!

Monday – Ran 4 miles outside dodging all the rain puddles. I woke up not really wanting to run, but got out there and ended up feeling really good!

Tuesday – Biked 10 miles focusing on turnover rate keeping a pretty mid-range pace and then kicking it up towards the end.

Wednesday – Ran 3.1 miles (9:24 pace) on the treadmill because the wind was CRAZY today. If it’s difficult to drive, it’s too windy to run outside in my book ;). Still got a good workout in. Started slow and finished sprinting. I tried taking a pic with my doggy and she kept yawning lol.
Thursday – Rest day.

Friday – Ran 9 miles (9:42 pace) on the treadmill. I just laughed after I got off the treadmill because it was sunny and beautiful out. When I was about to start, I decided to run inside because it was snowing (not a lot, but seriously snowing and blowing!) and it felt cold! Oh Michigan 😆. I am avoiding frostbite again at all costs, so a long treadmill run it was! The middle section was rough, but I picked it back up towards the end. My hip flexors have been an issue lately, so I stopped part way through and stretched. They tend to act up whenever I do sprinting/speed work and sometimes biking if I’m really focusing on lifting the pedals instead of just pushing. I’ve been really pushing my limits when I am near the finish of a run lately, so I’m not really surprised. Just have to spend a bit more time with the foam roller and stretching. I like to lay flat on our bars tools (a sturdy table would do) and let one leg hang, and then pull the other leg to my chest and hold for 30 seconds or so and repeat with other leg.

Saturday – Rest day. Today we really wanted to go for a hike, but it was just too cold. I tried taking the dog for a walk and my toes were tingling by the time I got to the end of our street, so I had to turn around :(.

That’s a wrap! Looking ahead to next week. My long run will be my last solo one for a while. I’ll be joining a running club for a couple weeks to train for my half, but mostly for my 25k as there are some runners in the group that I’ll likely be sticking with for the entire race. Really looking forward to the group atmosphere again! Long runs seem to go by much faster when you have great company.

How was your week? What was your most challenging workout? Do you run with a club or friends? Or do you do mostly solo running? I think both have their advantages! Just depends on what your goal is, I guess. Have a great week!

3 thoughts on “Week in Review – March 13 – 19

  1. I do a little of both when it comes to running. I run 3 times a week with our running club. I used to think I only wanted to run solo, but I got so much faster when I started running with the group.

    Like

    • Yes! I agree, group runs will help with speed. That’s a big part of why I like it too. It’s been a long time, but last time I was out there the guy I ran with pushed me just a little out of my comfort zone and I finished with my fastest half at the time.

      Like

Leave a Reply

