Week in Review – Feb. 28 – March 5

I was ready to get back into routine again, but the cold I got the end of our Disney trip had other plans :(. February was a weird month for me with injuries and time off to heal, and that weird-ness seems to be continuing into March. The cold moved to my chest and I sounded like I was coughing up a lung. Booo! I’ve been tired, but oddly no sore throat with this cough so that’s been a plus. I skipped a review of last week as it started with the Princess Half on Sunday and then I took 5 days off. Started again on Friday the 26th, so I’ll start the review there.

Friday – Ran 6 miles on the treadmill (easy pace), working some hills into it. First and last mile all flat. Starting to work at least one day of hill focus into my training for the Rock ‘n’ Roll Nashville Half Marathon (formerly Country Music). It’s a beastly course, but I really enjoyed the half — the full, not so much. So it’ll be cool returning for the half with my mom. 
Saturday – Rest day.

Sunday – 30 minutes of intervals on the bike trainer + 2 mile walk. 

Monday – Ran 4 miles on the treadmill. First mile was easy paced warm up, then alternated between sprints (for 2-3 minutes) and easy pace running (1-2 minutes) for about 2 miles, then a 1 mile easy pace cool down. Shin felt a little twingy (is that a word? Haha) a few times, which freaked me out. Maybe running intervals is just not for me? Stick to it on the bike? Really don’t want to give it up. Also, I officially registered for the race in Nashville 😬.

Tuesday – Biked 50 minutes on the trainer in the afternoon while my kiddo, who was home due to a snow day, took a nap. Poor thing has 6 year molars coming in (early!) and a cold. She is wiped out! 

Wednesday – Planned to do a short run, but was feeling miserable so I took a rest day.

Thursday – Planned to move up my long run to today, but my cough got worse (in my chest) and took another day off of cardio to speed up recovery. I did my Runners Love Yoga dvd and some headstand and handstand practice.

My dog wanted her picture taken apparently! haha Love that furry animal. Isn’t she cute? I keep my family stuff private, but I’ll freely share photos of my ‘fur-baby’ :).
img_3950

Friday & Saturday – Rest days. Started feeling a lot better on Saturday with less coughing.

My husband and I took our daughter to see the new Disney movie, Zootopia. She loved it, and so did we! We saw a 10 minute preview of it while in Disney World a few weeks ago and knew we had to go see it. It really was great! So funny and a great story of perseverance. Normally not a big Shakira fan, but she has a great song for the movie’s soundtrack called, “Try Everything.” I love the lyrics! It’s going to be my new running anthem :).

[Chorus]
I won’t give up, no I won’t give in
Til I reach the end and then I’ll start again
No I won’t leave, I wanna try everything
I wanna try even though I could fail
I won’t give up, no I won’t give in
Til I reach the end and then I’ll start again
No I won’t leave, I wanna try everything
I wanna try even though I could fail

Saturday was also spent de-cluttering, or at least the starting the de-clutter process before we move. I literally had a garbage bag full of crap from my BATHROOM alone. It’s ridiculous how much junk you can accumulate! I mean how many bottles of lotion or hotel shampoo bottles does one need?? Everyone should just pretend they’re moving every 6 months and get rid of stuff. I did this a while ago and got a good start, so it’s really mostly just our storage room that’s going to be the big project.

Hopefully this ends my ‘weird-ness’ streak and I can get back on track with half-marathon training again. I feel like I’m completely starting over! Hopefully my legs remember what to do ;).

4 thoughts on “Week in Review – Feb. 28 – March 5

  1. Yes, tingy is definitely a word! 😉 I too have had a few tingy spots here are there that I think, “It’ll just go away on its own.” I hope you and the rest of the family gets back to 100% soon!

    Like

  2. I’m so obsessed with de-cluttering and downsizing! I’ve been watching youtube videos on minimalism since about July and I find it fascinating. I’m not going extreme but I have definitely changed my habits over the months and I’m not stopping yet.

    To use up my hotel shampoo/conditioner I put them in my gym bag to use in the shower after swim!

    Like

    • I had to go search it on youtube after reading your comment haha! I agree, very interesting. And I totally agree with the “putting countertop appliances away” comment I heard on one of the videos. It does make the kitchen look cluttered for sure! Good idea to take your hotel shampoo/conditioner to the gym!

      Like

Leave a Reply

