Week in Review – Jan. 17 – 23

It was a bit of a roller coaster this week. I had some great workouts! But, I’ve been grinning and bearing a bit of pain along the way. More on that later. This week I threw in some workouts from the “Run Less, Run Faster” book (following the F.I.R.S.T. plan). I loved them! But, my body was not 100% when I started, so probably not a great idea to do some higher intensity work. I apparently like to ignore my own advice. I really enjoyed the workouts though!

Sunday – Biked intervals on the bike trainer with my husband for 30 minutes in the morning. Just ignore our messy hair! 😉 We did 10 min. easy, 1 min. hard, 1 min. easy, 2 min. hard, 1 min. easy, 3 min. hard, 1 min. easy, 3 min. hard, 1 min. easy, 2 min. hard, 1 minute easy, 4 minutes easy. I stuck around 14mph for easy and 19mph for hard.

Monday – 5.5 miles on the treadmill (a little over a mile warm up, then half mile repeats with .15 mile recovery intervals in the early afternoon + 30 minutes of lower body weights in the evening. I had a lot of fun with this run! The miles went by quickly and I really liked that distance for the repeats — not too long, not too short.

Tuesday – 45 minute interval bike trainer ride with my husband in the evening. It was so cold this morning! I had to check the weather after going outside and having the hairs in my nose freeze lol! “Feels like -3” was about right. It was beautiful out though. The sun was coming up and everything was sparkling!  

Wednesday – 20 minutes of lower body weights + I ran 4 miles on the treadmill (9:30 pace). I was so tired! I definitely need to go to bed earlier because I was dragging today and getting on the treadmill was so hard! I ‘celebrated’ getting it done with a post-run handstand 😊.

Thursday – Rest day.

Friday – I ran 11 miles on the treadmill in the morning after dropping my daughter off at school — easy miles in effort of saving my sore leg (10:19 pace). I really wanted to use the Dr. Cool wrap I got for Christmas because it’s so soothing, but I was short on time. It’s one of those things you put on your wish list but hope you never actually have to use. I’m glad I got this though, as I’m injury prone ;). IMG_1682I had just enough time to get showered and ready again, eat something, go grocery shopping, come home and unload, and clean up our kitchen a little before heading back to school to pick ‘A’ up. Friday’s always go SO fast, especially when it involves a long run! By the way, stay tuned for a post early this week about what I do to pass the time on the treadmill during a long run.

We had dinner plans, but they fell through so my husband and I decided to still go out and make a date night out of it. You have to take advantage of having a babysitter when you have one! 🙂 No guilt for pigging out on GF pizza after a long run! haha Finally got around to going to Brick Road Pizza in GR (we don’t get out much! lol). Lots of GF options. I probably consumed back all the calories I burned in the morning haha! We split a GF vegan cheesecake for dessert and it was SO good! I would have taken photos (I mean, who doesn’t love food photos?), but it was gone in minutes ;).

Saturday – Rest day. We took advantage of the winter wonderland and went sledding as a family. So much fun! ‘A’ and I got seated and Scott would give us a push and jump on the toboggan behind us. This turned out to be a little workout climbing the hill so many times!Then after lunch we went and checked out a winter festival in town. They had snowmobile races, a hayride, an ‘Olaf’ building contest, a climbing wall, and reindeer to feed. We didn’t stay too long, but it was a fun day!

That was my week! Not going to get into it too much, but I’ve had some issues running for a few weeks. I’m going to take it easy with training so I can push it on race day. After the half I’ll be taking some time off of running to focus on cycling and hopefully give my leg a jumpstart on fully healing. Then I’ll be jumping into my 25k training. I want to fully enjoy this half. Getting a PR is still my big goal, but considering what’s going on I’ll be ok if it’s just not my day. There will be other half marathons. I’m certainly not giving up though. It’s just going to be harder if I’m not feeling 100%. I will still be giving it my all on race day! Just feeling a little frustrated. Onto the last week of January!

I feel like having a race to focus on always makes time go by so much faster! Anyone else feel that way? How is next week February?! I’m not sure, but I’m certainly welcoming it as it’ll be an exciting month! I hope you all had a great week!

2 thoughts on “Week in Review – Jan. 17 – 23

  1. I definitely like having a training plan. I’m also enjoying using my trainer for interval work. February, really??? Wow! That means we’re that much closer to spring! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

