Run Less, Run Faster?

I’ve had the book, “Run Less, Run Faster,” on my Amazon wish list for a while. But, recently a fellow Team Nuun member mentioned it in an online group and inspired me to go check it out at our local library. The basic idea is that you run 3x a week, and cross-train 2x a week. But, each workout has a very specific purpose. Your runs are track repeats, a tempo run, and a long run. And if you’re cycling for your cross-training like I do, you’re not just riding one pace the entire ride. The book lays out what each week would look like for each workout. I’ve done that schedule quite a bit, but my workouts were often times not ‘purpose driven’. It was more so about putting in the time/miles. I had a great personal record breaking year in 2015, but after reading this book a bit it has me re-evaluating my training. What could I accomplish in 2016 following the FIRST training plan (Furman Institute of Running and Scientific Training)?  

I’m a little bummed I don’t have many more weeks of training left before my first race of the year (a half), because I’d love to fully follow the FIRST plan. That being said, I am likely going to be following the marathon plan for my second this fall, and modifying the half plan for the 25k I’m doing. I originally was going to go with one of the Hal Higdon plans, as I’ve taken those (and modified) in the past. When I say I modified, I cut a run and added a cross-train day instead. So, I’m already leaning more towards FIRST as I know my legs feel stronger doing 3 runs a week vs. 4+. I just need to change each workout to have a purpose like the book explains. Long story short, I’m definitely buying the book to keep as a reference for the training plans. I haven’t even finished the book, but it’s already totally inspired me and has me pumped for my long run on Friday!

What training programs have you used? What have you found works best for you? One thing is for sure, there is not a one-size-fits-all plan out there. Everyone is different. Everyone’s bodies will respond differently to a training plan. It sure is interesting hearing about how other athletes train though!

6 thoughts on “Run Less, Run Faster?

  1. I’m definitely moving toward quality over quantity. I’m signed up for 3 spring half marathons, but there’s always something coming up with a little twinge here or there, and I think at 43 years old, my body needs more specific workouts and more active recovery, not just pounding the pavement every day

    Like

  2. This book sounds very interesting, I’m going to add it to my list! I run 3x a week and do something else (snowboard, golf, strength train, hike, etc.) 2-3x a week. On my current plan I’m a much stronger runner and more well-rounded athlete than when I previously ran 4-5x a week. So I’m a believer in running a little less to gain more!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Definitely check it out! Things I thought would count as cross-training, like strength training, don’t in this plan. It focuses on swimming, rowing, and cycling. Of course strength training is great, but the object is to be doing something that will be comparable to running to enhance aerobic fitness. It’s been a very interesting read so far!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

