Race Recap: Mackinac 8 Mile Race Weekend

Another memorable 8 Mile race weekend in the books! This was my 7th time running the race, but we’ve been coming to the island for the race for 17 years! My mom started doing the race in 1998, and slowly the entire family started participating too. It’s such a pretty course, so it never gets old!

IMG_2506

This years 8 mile weekend was very unique. My sister, who has been living in Germany for several years, and her husband got married on the island! Well, they legally got married in Germany and did a U.S. ceremony here for family. It was beautiful! The day before the wedding was the race. Her husband sported a tuxedo t-shirt with the Germany flag colors on it, and my sister wore the Oiselle Runaway Bride dress. It was so cute seeing them come in at the finish together!

133538-060-015h

fb IMG_8100fb IMG_8086

The race starts in front of Mission Point Resort and goes into downtown and around the perimiter of the island. I love running through the downtown area. It’s so cute and who doesn’t love the sweet smell coming out of all the fudge shops! Sure beats the BBQ smell during the Country Music Marathon & Half haha! It was definitely one of the largest 8 mile races I can remember. I never remember having to weave around people and although it only happened a few times, it was a first for this race! Space wasn’t badΒ going through downtown, it was when you get through there that it got a little crowded at times.

IMG_2504I was definitely pushing myself! Maybe even a little too hard in the beginning. I ended up taking a few quick walk breaks after the half-way mark. But, it all worked out in the end! I ended up finishing over 6 minutes faster than my previous PR from last year!! I was hopeful to be in the upper 9’s, but wasn’t sure how I’d feel so I was thrilled when I crossed the finish line and realized what I did! Official finish time: 1:17:57 (pace 9:44). No knee pain during the race either. Great day!

Gault Race Mgmt. had free race photos this year! This was my finish line pic haha! I always have some really funny race face pics. Really kickin’ it into high gear there ;).133538-027-003hThe finisher’s medal:
IMG_20150912_124448

After everyone finished and got cleaned up, we went out to the hotel balcony overlooking the lake and enjoyed a glass of wine! And I did tree pose for the #stopdropandyoga I was tagged for on Instagram. Beautiful place to practice yoga too! I would have done more if I brought my mat ;).

IMG_2496

I’m looking forward to coming back to the island for the Great Turtle Half Marathon! A lady on the hotel porch told me, “It’s very hilly. Just when you think the hills are done, they keep going.” haha awesome! πŸ˜‰ I can’t imagine it being any worse than CMM, but I really don’t know. It’ll be the last of the 3 island races, and after completing it I’ll receive a 4th medal for completing the ‘trio’ of races in the same year. It’ll be my first trail race too, so I’m looking forward to the new experience (hilly or not)! But, in two weeks we’ll be in St. Ignace / Mackinaw City for the Mighty Mac 11k Bridge Run. So, we’ll be in that area a lot this fall! No complaints here :).

Leave a Reply

