Weekly Workout Log – August 30 – Sept. 5

Week 5 of marathon training is all done! Here’s what it looked like:

Sunday – Ran 9 miles (10:02 pace). Soooo humid!! I ran to a school campus and then back through some neighborhoods. My knees were bothering me during the run. It wasn’t ITB pain though. They just hurt! So that was frustrating, but other than that I felt good.

Screen Shot 2015-09-01 at 10.08.40 PM

Monday – Rest day.

Tuesday – Swam 1,250 yards. Felt really good!

IMG_20150901_204848

Wednesday – Ran an easy 3.1 miles on the treadmill. I had to share this pic of my dog. Love that face! She insisted on sitting on the lounge chair with me as I cooled down from my run.

IMG_20150902_103159

Thursday – Biked 45 minutes on the trainer with my new bike!

Image-1

Friday – Rest day.

ryan-gosling-memes-02

haha pretty much did that Friday night. Ryan knows best!

Saturday – Ran 10.5 miles. I had full intentions of driving to my parents house and running around there, but the weather had me change things up. I got my new Asics in the mail yesterday. So I was really excited to try them out on this long run. They were the correct type of shoe and the correct width (supposedly!)…and bonus, they’re my favorite colors!

IMAG6477e

This was one frustrating run. Between the weather and my new shoes, I’m ready to move on. I woke up at 5:45 to get ready and it was raining (not expecting that). At 6:45 I opened the garage door only to see the sky lighting up. I swear mother nature is plotting against us Saturday long-run folks ;). I went back inside and waited it out. At about 9 I decided to do a half mile easy run for a warm-up on the treadmill. Shoes felt super cushioned.

IMAG6482Then I took off for my run from our house. I got about 1.75 miles out and my feet were starting to go numb. Yep, the shoes were a no-go. Too narrow. I knew Asics ran narrower, but I guess I was just hoping for a miracle with it being a 2E. So bummed out! Needless to say, those are being shipped back. So thankful for the trial period because otherwise I’d have a giant stack of unused shoes in my closet. So, I turned around and headed back home to put my Brooks shoes on. I was also having some shoulder pain from carrying my water bottle. I’ve been putting off getting a hydration belt or some alternative for the longer runs and I’m definitely going to get one now. I ended up just dropping my Nuun filled water bottle at home when I changed my shoes.

IMAG6485

My feet are so much happier in the Brooks, that’s for sure! I got into another neighborhood and the sky started to look kind of scary, so I turned around and headed back home AGAIN. It started down pouring when I got to our street. I was really close to 6 miles when I reached our house so I just ran a few loops in front of the house to get there haha (doesn’t everyone do that?). The rain felt good, but I was really nervous about the lightning returning so I decided to play it safe and run on the treadmill for the remainder.

IMAG6489

I got in and I was feeling a little drained, so I quick grabbed one of my Honey Stinger energy gels and headed down to my treadmill. I listened to some music and sure enough I could see the sun coming out while I’m running. I was not about to go back outside though! So I just stuck it out to finish the last 4.

IMAG6492 That has got to be one of the most broken up runs I’ve ever done. So irritating, but there are always good runs and some bad too. The positive aspect of this run was that I didn’t have knee or ITB pain! Next weekend is another race weekend (8 miler). This particular race has always been incredibly difficult for some reason. It’s pretty darn flat so I, nor my parents who also run it, can’t figure out why none of us ever hit our goal time there. I think it’s just the really long straight stretches of road that mess with you mentally (at least for me). I got a PR for that course last time, but it wasn’t anywhere near where I thought I’d come in. This year I’m going to change that! 🙂 Moving onto week 6 of half-marathon training.

Leave a Reply

