Negative Split Work + Running Tunes

IMG_20150622_124707It’s SUMMER! Back to super hot and humid runs! If my parent’s pool was filled, I would have jumped in after today’s run :). Should be filled this week though! I ran with music outside for the first time in a year and a half because I bought some new music and just decided to give it a listen on today’s run. I stopped listening to music when I was training for the Country Music Half last year. I occasionally listen to it on the treadmill, but mostly go without. I figured there would be large enough gaps between the live bands that I’d need to get used to ‘being in my head’ instead of using music to distract me. I kind of just got into the habit of not bringing music along after that. It was a nice change listening to some new tunes today.

Screenshot_2015-06-22-11-48-51I made an attempt at negative splits outside. Not quite there, but a good effort! It’s definitely challenging when terrain changes. But, practice makes perfect! 🙂 Splits were 10:39, 10:27, 10:43 (what happened??), 9:23. I am trying to prove to myself that I can bring my avg. pace down and not feel awful at the end of a run if I start slower and gradually increase. This is a skill I need to work on for longer runs. Generally if I want to do a faster paced 3-4 mile run its giving it my all right from the start, and doing so I have been getting a better time than today. But I know as mileage increases I am going to hit a wall if I don’t start slow, so fIMAG5638ocusing on this is going to be key for my success in the half I am doing this fall. I am still going to be doing speed work for my short distance races though. I did a 2 minute plank in the empty pool after the run too 🙂

I drove back home for lunch and refueled with some kidney beans for protein, avocado for IMAG5641healthy fats, and some sautéed brussels sprouts, tomatoes and green onion. I seasoned with some curry, cumin, ginger, and a little salt/pepper.

Now back to my new running tunes! I added a few new songs to my playlist, but one really stands out to me. We’ve probably all heard a certain song for the first time and immediately felt the urge to go buy the song because you think there is just something special about it. That happened tome a few days ago with Run Run by The Rival. I seriously can’t believe I’ve never heard this song before. It just resonates with me so much. I recently saw a video promoting a local Girls on the Run organization and it had that song 500.2df53d6d5532e38953c1f97a31c7f64b0c15c88eplaying in the background. I fell in love with the lyrics and just the empowering sound and message it had. I typed some of the lyrics into Google and found out who the band was. Within a few minutes I had bought the song on iTunes. I absolutely love it! Definitely check it out!


Run Run – The Rival

Kick the dust off your back and don’t look back

Give all the doubters you know a fake heart attack

Cause you were made for this you can feel it inside bones

You were made for this and it’s time you let the world know

Who you are, what you know, it’s happening, right now so

Run, Run, it’s a new day

Run, Run, it’s time to embrace

Breathe, breathe, in and out and

Love, love, let it all out

The sun is creeping in, let it sink in your heart

Everyone is taken so be who you are

Cause you were made for this

You can feel it in your soul

You were made for this

So watcha, watch waiting for

It’s happening, right now so

Run, Run, it’s a new day

Run, Run, it’s time to embrace

Breathe, breathe, in and out and

Love, love, let it all out

Let the light fade into all the colors that make you

Run, Run, it’s a new day

Run, Run, it’s time to embrace

Run, Run, it’s a new day

Run, Run, it’s time to embrace

Breathe, breathe, in and out and

Love, love, let it all out

One thought on “Negative Split Work + Running Tunes

Leave a Reply

